The Vietnam War WITF Stories

Welcome Aboard<span>– Suzanne D.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/welcome-aboard/ https://vietnam.witf.org/new-home-new-hope/

New Home, New Hope – Carol M.

https://vietnam.witf.org/there-are-always-two-sides-to-the-story/

There are Always Two Sides to the Story! – Lou L.

Pararescue in Southeast Asia<span>– Ember C.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/pararescue-in-southeast-asia/ War’s Indignities and Graces<span>– India G.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/wars-indignities-and-graces/ My first day in Vietnam <span>– Richard W.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/richardw/ https://vietnam.witf.org/volunteering-in-zambia/

Volunteering in Zambia – Dale B.

https://vietnam.witf.org/vietnam-memories/

Vietnam memories – Barb L.

https://vietnam.witf.org/wake-up-youve-got-a-call-from-vietnam/

Wake up, you’ve got a call from Vietnam. – Lonnie F.

https://vietnam.witf.org/hanged-in-e-town/

Hanged in E-town – J. K. Kreider

The Hero I never knew<span> – Tony R.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/the-hero-i-never-knew/ https://vietnam.witf.org/a-marines-son/

A Marine’s Son – Stephen C.

The Secret War<span> – Michael B.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/the-secret-war/ Still Unsettled<span> – Donald M.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/still-unsettled/ Interview with a Marine<span>– Jeffrey B.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/interview-with-a-marine/ https://vietnam.witf.org/michael/

Michael – Trish S.

https://vietnam.witf.org/the-almost-last-person-drafted-for-vietnam/

The almost last person drafted for Vietnam – Tom W.

“Capt. Frank Hills Flies 200 Combat Missions” https://vietnam.witf.org/capt-frank-hills-flies-200-combat-missions/ https://vietnam.witf.org/mr-hanh/

Mr. Hanh– Virginia P.

https://vietnam.witf.org/our-children-from-vietnam/

Our children from Vietnam– Linda S.

https://vietnam.witf.org/vietnamese-refugees/

Vietnamese refugees– Linh N.

https://vietnam.witf.org/for-the-american-dream/

For the American Dream– Khanh-Ha N.

https://vietnam.witf.org/dennis-sheppard-army/

Write a letter as if you’re dead – Dennis S.

Cambodian Nurse<span>– Keith S.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/cambodian-nurse/ My life as the spouse of a member of the Philadelphia Resistance<span> – Kathy C</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/my-life-as-the-spouse-of-a-member-of-the-philadelphia-resistance/ https://vietnam.witf.org/life-in-the-philippines-during-the-vietnam-war/

Life in the Philippines during the Vietnam War – Joe P.

The Wall of Faces Project – Seeks Pennsylvanians https://vietnam.witf.org/the-wall-of-faces-project-seeks-pennsylvanians/ What South Vietnam Looked Like<span>– Gary L.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/what-south-vietnam-looked-like/ https://vietnam.witf.org/letter-home-31-august-1966/

Letter Home 31 August 1966 – Frank H.

https://vietnam.witf.org/not-by-choice-but-proud-of-service/

Not by Choice but Proud of Service – William K.

https://vietnam.witf.org/my-dear-vietnam-veteran/

My Dear Vietnam Veteran – Renata D.

https://vietnam.witf.org/on-the-sidelines/

On the sidelines – Marc B.

Speech to a World Cultures Class<span>– Tom F.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/speech-to-a-world-cultures-class/ A tropical paradise with 5000 GI’s<span>– Jerry M.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/a-tropical-paradise-with-5000-gis/ Remembering our Brothers<span> – Bill C.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/remembering-our-brothers/ https://vietnam.witf.org/the-path-taken-john-o/

The Path Taken – John O.

Refugees from war settle in Lebanon Valley https://vietnam.witf.org/refugees-from-war-settle-in-lebanon-valley/ https://vietnam.witf.org/thought-we-could-help/

Thought we could help – Mark W.

https://vietnam.witf.org/an-unfinished-story/

An Unfinished Story – Kathleen W.

https://vietnam.witf.org/with-love-chau/

With love, Chau – Nancy F.

https://vietnam.witf.org/if-i-smell-diesel-and-garbage-together-its-like-a-flashback/

If I smell diesel and garbage together it’s like a flashback. – Tom F.

https://vietnam.witf.org/unknowable/

Unknowable – George K.

https://vietnam.witf.org/miss-valenti-and-the-viet-nam-war/

Miss Valenti and the Viet Nam War – Cindy H.

When you’re on patrol<span> – Don B.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/donald-boose/ https://vietnam.witf.org/my-first-memories-in-this-world/

My First Memories In This World – Kimberly S.

A Meditation On Life Post-Vietnam<span>– Larry S.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/a-meditation-on-life-post-vietnam/ Remembering the Good We did in Vietnam<span>– Gary L.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/remembering-the-good-we-did-in-vietnam/ https://vietnam.witf.org/hauling-live-enemy-ammo-into-our-firebase/

Hauling live enemy ammo into our firebase – Tom F.

American Story about Mike<span> – Spike S. </span> https://vietnam.witf.org/american-story-about-mike-spike-s/ https://vietnam.witf.org/love-changes-a-mind/

Love Changes a Mind – Charles Mc.

MACV Advisor’s Role<span>– David C.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/macv-advisors-role/ https://vietnam.witf.org/kept-in-the-dark/

Kept in the dark – Rick L.

https://vietnam.witf.org/the-cemetery-and-the-wall/

The Cemetery and the Wall – Titus P.

https://vietnam.witf.org/a-faraway-look-in-his-eyes/

A Faraway Look In His Eyes – Tom B.

Our Babies, Our Disgrace<span> – Gary M.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/our-babies-our-disgrace/ https://vietnam.witf.org/vietnam-vets-and-the-antiwar-movement/

Vietnam Vets and the Antiwar Movement – Steven N.

https://vietnam.witf.org/commitment-of-a-conscientious-objector/

Commitment of a Conscientious Objector – Dale R.

Heads You Die, Tails I live<span> – Karl P.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/heads-you-die-tails-i-live/ https://vietnam.witf.org/collateral-damage/

Collateral Damage – Deb H.

https://vietnam.witf.org/a-young-man-in-1964/

A young man in 1964 – Harold R.

https://vietnam.witf.org/letter-home-24-july-1966/

Letter Home 24 July 1966 – Frank H.

To Love the Enemy<span> – Doug H.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/to-love-the-enemy/ A Trip Downtown<span> – Jerry Z.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/a-trip-downtown/ https://vietnam.witf.org/the-rear-guard-in-vietnam/

The Rear Guard in Vietnam – Michael R.

https://vietnam.witf.org/inspiration-for-national-vietnam-veterans-day-of-recognition/

Inspiration for National Vietnam Veterans Day of Recognition– Harold R.

After USS Newport News Vietnam Cruise<span> – Ron A.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/after-uss-newport-news-vietnam-cruise/ https://vietnam.witf.org/the-perils-of-a-helicopter-war/

The Perils of a Helicopter War– Gary L.

https://vietnam.witf.org/quote-from-15th-century-vietnamese-poet/

Quote from 15th century Vietnamese poet– Randall V.

https://vietnam.witf.org/draft-board-13/

Draft Board #13 – John Y.

https://vietnam.witf.org/vietnam-era-conscientious-objector/

Vietnam-Era Conscientious Objector – Darwin S.

https://vietnam.witf.org/a-life-experience-in-vietnam/

A life experience in Vietnam – Rod D.

https://vietnam.witf.org/kent-state/

Kent State – Carol C.

https://vietnam.witf.org/the-longest-year-of-my-life/

The longest year of my life – Deborah S.

https://vietnam.witf.org/a-draftee-who-served-at-the-pentagon/

A Draftee Who Served at The Pentagon From ’66 to ‘68– John S.

USMC 63-69: Not everyone in the 60’s wore Love Beads<span> – Vern A.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/usmc-63-69-parris-island-quantico-vietnam/ https://vietnam.witf.org/the-281st-assault-helicopter-company/

The 281st Assault Helicopter Company

https://vietnam.witf.org/the-quaker-delegate/

The Quaker Delegate – Robert N.

https://vietnam.witf.org/share-your-story/

Share Your Story

https://vietnam.witf.org/letter-home-26-september-1966/

Letter Home 26 September 1966 – Frank H.

https://vietnam.witf.org/signal-troop-in-da-nam/

Signal Troop in da Nam – Karl A.

https://vietnam.witf.org/a-caution/

A Caution – David D.

Battling the Vietcong with Artillery<span>– Gary L.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/battling-the-vietcong-with-artillery/ My Vietnam Playlist<span>– Ron A.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/my-vietnam-playlist/ https://vietnam.witf.org/frank-gall/

Everybody had a camera – Frank G.

Thank you for your service<span> – Jason G.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/thank-you-for-your-service/ https://vietnam.witf.org/unbelievable-monsters/

Unbelievable Monsters– Gary L.

https://vietnam.witf.org/what-i-got-for-doing-the-right-thing/

What I got for doing the right thing – Guy D.

https://vietnam.witf.org/shot-down-at-tuy-hoa/

Shot Down at Tuy Hoa – Lou L.

The Cruise to War December 11 -31ST, 1966<span>– Gary L.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/the-cruise-to-war-december-11-31st-1966/ https://vietnam.witf.org/u-s-military-did-not-lose-war-in-vietnam/

U.S. military did not lose war in Vietnam– Gary L.

https://vietnam.witf.org/the-lottery/

The Lottery – Douglas D.

https://vietnam.witf.org/a-viet-nam-era-conscientious-objectors-tale/

A Viet Nam-Era Conscientious Objector’s Tale – James S.

https://vietnam.witf.org/letter-home-14-september-1966/

Letter Home 14 September 1966 – Frank H.

https://vietnam.witf.org/letter-home-1-november-1966/

Letter Home 1 November 1966 – Frank H.

A Story of Hope<span> – Robert B.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/a-story-of-hope/ https://vietnam.witf.org/memories-of-a-civilian-dependent-in-saigon-1967-1970/

Memories of a civilian dependent in Saigon 1967 – 1970 – Erica B.

Helpless to help<span> – Janice K.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/helpless-to-help/ https://vietnam.witf.org/mothers/

Mothers – Jerry L.

https://vietnam.witf.org/jackkranchick/

Two Purple Hearts in 89 days – Jack K.

https://vietnam.witf.org/early-in-the-war/

Early in the war – Robert R.

Free Mail; Letters from Vietnam https://vietnam.witf.org/free-mail-letters-from-vietnam/ https://vietnam.witf.org/q-a-with-filmmakers-of-pbss-the-vietnam-war/

Q & A with Filmmakers of “The Vietnam War”

The Wounded Children<span> – Donald S.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/the-wounded-children/ https://vietnam.witf.org/travel-to-the-a-shau-valley/

Travel to the A Shau Valley – Chaplain Grover D.

https://vietnam.witf.org/i-painted-my-windows-a-poem/

I Painted My Windows: A Poem – Philip J.

https://vietnam.witf.org/january-7-1967-a-day-in-vietnam/

January 7 1967 a day in Vietnam – John S.

https://vietnam.witf.org/a-combat-radio-and-puff-the-magic-dragon/

A Combat Radio and Puff the Magic Dragon – Herbert M.

https://vietnam.witf.org/afraid-of-dying-stupid/

I wasn’t afraid to die. I was afraid of dying stupid. – Joe B.

An Army Nurse Perspective on Vietnam<span> – Phyllis C.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/an-army-nurse-perspective-on-vietnam/ 2016 Clifton Morenci High School Reunion <span> – Ron A.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/2016-clifton-morenci-high-school-reunion/ https://vietnam.witf.org/im-no-religious-man-but-someone-was-looking-over-us-thomas-n/

I’m no religious man, but someone was looking over us. – Thomas N.

https://vietnam.witf.org/antiwar-poet-at-13-years-old/

Antiwar poet at 13 years old – Sandra I.

https://vietnam.witf.org/vietnam-one-childs-perspective/

Vietnam: One Child’s Perspective – Jerry S.

https://vietnam.witf.org/george-rodriquez/

George Rodriquez

What the hell have I gotten myself into?<span> – Dennis O.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/dennis-oconner/ Hearing from “The Other Side”<span> – Luke M.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/hearing-from-the-other-side/ https://vietnam.witf.org/christmas-to-christmas/

Christmas to Christmas – Richard O.

https://vietnam.witf.org/letter-home-16-august-1966/

Letter Home 16 August 1966 – Frank H.

https://vietnam.witf.org/fathers-orders/

Father’s Orders – Linda S.

A Coin Called Remember<span> – Eric B.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/a-coin-called-remember/ https://vietnam.witf.org/the-scores-and-the-lottery/

The Scores and the Lottery – John S.

Lebanon Marine<span>– Thomas R.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/lebanon-marine/ https://vietnam.witf.org/my-real-education-in-the-air-force/

My real education in the Air Force – Stephen C.

My War Was Different<span> – Joe B.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/my-war-was-different/ https://vietnam.witf.org/by-the-runway/

By the runway – Mahlon F.

https://vietnam.witf.org/christmas-in-august/

Christmas in August – Trina B.

A Vietnam War Love Story<span>– James U.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/a-vietnam-war-love-story/ https://vietnam.witf.org/1st-day-in-country/

1st day in Country – Greg N.

The Suicide<span> – Dennis S.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/the-suicide/ https://vietnam.witf.org/a-veterans-playlist-the-top-10-vietnam-war-songs/

A Veteran’s Playlist: The Top 10 Vietnam War Songs – Doug B.

https://vietnam.witf.org/what-i-saw/

What I Saw – Phil W.

https://vietnam.witf.org/recent-traumatic-experience/

Recent Traumatic Experiences – Chaplain Grover D.

The Many Faces of South Vietnam 1967<span>– Gary L.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/the-many-faces-of-south-vietnam-1967/ Chairborne!<span> – Alan S.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/chairborne/ https://vietnam.witf.org/my-role-chaplain/

My Role -Chaplain Grover D.

Vietnam on My Shoulder<span> – Jay S.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/vietnam-on-my-shoulder/ My Short Tour<span> – Bruce D.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/my-short-tour/ https://vietnam.witf.org/vietnam-memories-vs-viet-nam-memories/

Vietnam memories vs Viet Nam memories – Bob S.

https://vietnam.witf.org/in-processing-the-vietnamese/

In-processing the Vietnamese for the INS at Ft. Indiantown Gap– Theresa Lynn R.

https://vietnam.witf.org/protesting-idealism/

Protesting, Idealism – Lynn K.

Marine “Three Times Dead”<span>– Chuck R.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/marine-three-times-dead/ https://vietnam.witf.org/lures/

Lures – Jerry L.

https://vietnam.witf.org/never-again-will-one-generation-of-veterans-abandon-another/

Never again will one generation of veterans abandon another – Mike G.

https://vietnam.witf.org/11-july-1966-letter-home/

11 July 1966 Letter Home– Frank H.

https://vietnam.witf.org/you-were-always-aware-of-where-you-were/

You were always aware of where you were. – Keith M.

https://vietnam.witf.org/my-nephew-david/

My nephew, David – Beryl M.

https://vietnam.witf.org/xuan-loc-base-camp/

Xuan Loc base camp – Larry W.

https://vietnam.witf.org/alices-restaurant-jr/

Alice’s Restaurant, Jr. – Jim Mc.

Marc’s Memories https://vietnam.witf.org/marcs-memories/ https://vietnam.witf.org/david-watkins/

It was my turn – David W.

https://vietnam.witf.org/fireworks/

Fireworks – Michael C.

https://vietnam.witf.org/december-13-1968/

December 13, 1968 – Kathy D.

Purple Heart<span> – Dennis S.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/purple-heart/ A Vietnam Requiem<span>– John B</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/a-vietnam-requiem/ Fire on the Flight Deck<span> – Lou B.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/fire-on-the-flight-deck/ Memories -Pictures- Reunions!<span> – Robert C.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/memories-pictures-reunions/ https://vietnam.witf.org/war-technology-and-war-taxes/

War Technology and War Taxes – Maynard S.

One Christmastime…<span>– Randall V.</span> https://vietnam.witf.org/one-christmastime/ https://vietnam.witf.org/a-marine-pilots-letter-to-a-conscientious-objector/

A Marine pilot’s letter to a Conscientious Objector – Herb H.